Posted in Faith, My Life

School Days – Elementary and Middle

 

Before I begin to tell you about my school experience, there’s one earlier memory I must share.  The summer before I started school, my older brother carried chicken pox home with him at the end of the school year.  He was a loving older brother and passed them on to his three younger sisters.  It was quite an itchy summer in our house.

Books and Backpack

Seeing as I was born in late October, I was almost six years old when I started Kindergarten.  I attended Kindergarten Monday, Wednesday, and every other Friday.  I really don’t remember much about Kindergarten.  At the end of Kindergarten, I had to get glasses to help me see.

First grade is a little more memorable.  As a first grade student, I started school in one class and because my class was overcrowded, I was moved to another.  I knew the teacher in the new class, so being moved wasn’t a big deal.  I guess first grade is where most of my memories really start.  If I remember correctly, I had my first experience with death as a first grader.  I don’t remember all the details, but a classmate died.  It was also during first grade that I had my first hospital stay that I remember.  I had been hospitalized as a one month old baby for dehydration, but I have no memory of that.  As a first grade student, I had what my teacher described as a seizure at school and my parents had to be called to take me to the hospital.   The doctor at the hospital admitted me because I was running a fever.  A few weeks later, I saw a neurologist who diagnosed me with migraine headaches, not seizures.

After first grade, elementary school was pretty much normal.  I went to a public elementary school and learned reading, math, science, social studies, art, music, and health.  It took a lot of hard work and dedication, but I went all the way through elementary school without getting anything below an A on my report card.  The school I attended elementary school at only went to fourth grade.

Owl Owl Supply Monitor

I finished elementary school and began middle school.  As a fifth grade student, I earned my first B on my report card.  I look back on it today and laugh about it, but as a fifth grade student it was a big deal.  The middle school I attended was fifth grade through eighth grade.  It was also a public school and I studied the same subjects I did in elementary school only on a more advanced level.  While my middle school report cards may not have looked as perfect as my elementary school ones (there was a B you know), I still worked hard and expected the best from myself.  During middle school, I won several certificates, medals, and trophies for academic achievements.

As an eighth grade student, I had a minor accident that caused me to miss several days of school.  I was playing ball in the front yard at home with my siblings when I fell and slid across our black top drive.  Although my knee was scratched pretty bad there was hardly any blood.  I cleaned it that night and went to bed.  I had experienced many scratches and bruises as a child playing sports with my siblings, cousins, and friends.  Little did I know that this fall might be a life changer.  The next morning I woke up with a very sore knee.  Overnight the scraped knee I thought I had thoroughly cleaned the night before had  become red and swollen and had yellow-green puss coming from it.  I saw my primary care doctor that day.  He treated the infection with antibiotics and asked me to stay home from school so the knee could be left open to drain without the risk of getting more germs in it.  I did everything just like the doctor ordered, my knee healed, and I was able to return to school.

New Year’s Day of my eighth grade year fell on a Sunday.  I made a life changing decision that day by becoming a Christian and dedicating my life to doing the will of God.

I graduated eighth grade and was ready to start high school.  I’ve always heard those are the best years of your life.  I’ll let you be the judge.

 

 

Graphics from: http://www.mycutegraphics.com/

 

 

Leave a Reply

