Posted in Faith, My Life

Forever, Faith, Family

Before going on with my journey with Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy, which seems like a never ending journey, I would like to take a moment to reflect on my faith and family.  I grew up living a mile from my grandfather, who was a Church of Christ preacher.  From the time I was just a few days old, I’ve always been close with my family and have always been active in the church congregations we have attended.

I spent a lot a time with both my birth family and my church family.  Sundays were always a day to spend with God and family.  I can remember many Sundays where we would all go to church as a family and then gather at my grandparents house for food, fun, and fellowship.

When I became a Christian, I had no idea that I would be diagnosed with Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy (RSD), which later became known as Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS), approximately a year and a half later.  Faith and family is what brought me through those trying days of high school.  Faith and family are what have molded me into the person I am today.  I know everything happens for a purpose.  I don’t know why I ended up with RSD/CRPS or gastroparesis, but I know God is in control of my life and I trust Him to lead me where I need to go.

If I could go back and do something different with my life, I wouldn’t change a thing.  Due to my health issues I’ve met people and made friends that I probably would have never met without them.  While there are days I wish it would all just go away, I have come to appreciate my life just the way it is.  True joy comes from within and I’ve learned to accept myself just as I am.  For a long time, I refused pictures with my crutches in them.  Now I’m thinking about a wheelchair and picc line photo shoot.  I’ve realized God made us all the way we are for a purpose.  We should never be ashamed of who we are as long as we are living for God.

Girl Photographer

I’m hoping through this blog that my story, my daily struggles, and my triumphs might help someone else following along behind me on this same journey.

I’m thankful God blessed me with the family He did.  We might not be perfect, but we are His.

 

Graphic from: http://www.mycutegraphics.com/

 

Leave a Reply

