Posted in College, Complex Regional Pain Syndrome / Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy, My Life

Now What?

Back to my life story…

I had earned a college degree, but I was not physically able to teach.  Now what was I going to do.  I wasn’t willing to believe that I had wasted my time earning that degree, so I did the only thing I knew to do.  I went back to school part-time.  I decided to work on a Master’s degree in educational technology.  I could take the classes on the internet, from home, while wearing pajamas and laying in bed.  So, that’s what I did.

Girl Sleeping Clip Art

College continued and so did the surgeries.  In 2007, I tore the meniscus in my right knee and had to have knee surgery.  In 2008, the pulse generator (battery) part of my neurostimulator had to be surgically replaced.  The neurostimulator wires also needed to be replaced, so they did that at the same time.  In 2009, I managed to tear my meniscus again and had to have surgery again on my right knee.  In 2010, I began having trouble with my wisdom teeth and had to have them taken out surgically.

I have to point out something that I’ve always found a little odd.  After having the last knee surgery, I realized that my first two knee surgeries were in 97 and 99 and my second two were 07 and 09.

During this time, our family continued to grow as well.  In 2008, my brother and his wife gave birth to a son and in 2009 my sister got married.

Taking one class a semester and completing many assignments by dictating to the computer, I finished my Master’s degree in 2010.  It wasn’t easy.  I must admit there were times I didn’t know if I would be able to finish.  However, I kept crawling forward and I made it.

Thank You AppleI can’t begin to explain how accommodating my professors, both graduate and undergraduate, were.  During my college career, I faced nine surgeries.  I also lost two grandparents, two aunts, and a cousin to death.  Almost all of my professors were there to help me out when I needed it.  They worked with me and helped me to see that I could be successful even while facing all the challenges I had to overcome in life.  Even though, I’m still not physically able to work, I don’t see those years as wasted time.  This blog was originally created for my college classes.  If it hadn’t been for those classes, I wouldn’t know what a blog was and I wouldn’t be sharing my story with whoever finds it.

Sticky Note Thank YouI must admit, I’ve been writing this blog for almost two months, but haven’t told anyone about it.  When the timing is right, I’ll share it with my family and friends.  For now, it’s an outlet for me share my story and try to inspire others.  I’m trying to quickly tell my past story so I can move into the present.  For now, my blog is here and it is just waiting to be discovered.  Thanks to those of you who have found my blog and are reading it.  Feel free to leave comments.

 

Graphics from: http://www.mycutegraphics.com/

Leave a Reply

