Posted in #MyMightyMonth, Center for Courageous Kids, Courage, Faith, Life Lessons, My Life

Day 3 of 30

January 4…Wow, this is more difficult than I imagined it would be.  Some of these prompts cause you to stop and think about what’s truly important in life.  I debated on whether I should share today’s writing, but decided to go ahead.  So here it is.

Personal Prompt:  Write a letter to you future self.

Dear older me:

I couldn’t resist using that as my greeting.  If you remember your younger self, you know that we used to listen to K-Love a lot on the radio and their was a song about someone writing to the younger them and it started out “dear younger me.”

I’ve had a difficult day today, but looking back you may or may not remember it.  The important thing is that with God’s help, we made it through today. The road may not be easy, but with God all things are possible.

I hope you still go to church and trust in God.  I’m sure you’ve been through a lot, but I know He has been there for you.  No matter how difficult things may get, don’t give up and don’t lose faith.  There are going to be people who don’t like you, but that’s okay.  Just be yourself and do what is right and everything will be okay.

With Love,

A younger you

Creative Prompt: Write a letter to someone you admire.

Dear people I met at CCK:

You may not see yourselves as heroes or someone to be admired, but I do. Each of you will forever have a special place in my heart.

To the CEO and staff, you gave my niece and nephew a weekend of fun, with me their aunt with a disability, that we will never forget.  Who would have known that a weekend at a camp designed for children with disabilities would have been so much fun.  I admire what you have made available for children living with chronic illnesses.  Ms. Betty had a big dream when she built the Center for Courageous Kids and her dream has brought lots of smiles to children and adults alike.  A camp that accommodates the special needs of children with chronic illnesses was a great idea.

To the children we met, you are truly amazing. Although your lives may be difficult, your happiness and smiles bring joy to others.  Your courage gives me the strength to keep fighting.  You inspire me to be the best I can be.

To the parents of the children, you deserve the worlds greatest honors. Your love for your children is evident in the way you care for them and make time in your schedule to spend a fun-filled weekend with them at camp. You give of yourself and time to make their lives more enjoyable.

To each of you, I say thanks.  Thanks for being an inspiration. Thanks for letting me be a part of your life.

DR

 

Leave a Reply

