Posted in #MyMightyMonth

Self Care

Personal Prompt: Write an instruction manual for taking care of yourself. 

To take care of yourself, you must always show yourself love and kindness. While other’s may not agree, the first thing I feel people must do to really take care of themselves is make things right with God. I became a Christian the year before all my health issues started. I don’t know how I would have survived it all without God helping me along. Everyone may not agree with me on that, but that’s how I feel. I’m not pushing my belief on anyone. Everyone must decide what he or she believes.

You must also learn to ignore the rest of the world. I can almost guarantee that someone, at some point in life, is going to say something hurtful about you. When that time comes, just ignore them. I always try to pray for the people who say mean and hurtful things about me. I believed my high school principal when he told me some people are just ignorant and don’t know any better, so I pray that they might learn that saying mean things about or to other people doesn’t make them look bigger or better than that person. While other’s words can hurt at times, we must realize that others don’t see the real person we know we are. What other’s think about us doesn’t matter near as much as what we know about ourselves. I’m a good person and although I do get hurt by what others say about me sometimes, I don’t dwell on it. We can’t build our lives around what others say about us.

Next, be yourself. As teenagers most of us spent hours trying to perfect our look, so we would fit in. Sure, everyone wants to be popular and have friends, but if someone doesn’t like just because you are being you, then you are better off without them. If you feel like there is a part of you that you need to hide from others, you need to stop and ask yourself a question. Is this something I can and need to change? If you are hiding a part of your life because you know it’s wrong or sinful, then you need to change it. However, if it’s a health condition or something like that and you have no control over it, you need to accept it. You shouldn’t have to hide scars, medical conditions, and things like that from others. If others can’t accept you as you are, they aren’t going to accept you anyway. True friends will love and support you just as you are.

My last piece of advice is to make the most out of life, but don’t forget to enjoy the small things. I’ve often heard people say, “Don’t forget to stop and smell the roses.”  While the big things in life always get our attention, sometimes the small things bring just as much joy. Make time each day to do one good thing for yourself. Even if it’s something as simple as drinking a cup of your favorite hot chocolate or taking a bubble bath, take time each day to do something that you enjoy.

You are the only person who can take care of yourself!

 

Creative Prompt: Plan a surprise party for a friend. Who is the party for, what are you celebrating, where is the event being held and how will you decorate?

 

I’m not a surprise party type person. I never know what the next day is going to be like for me, so surprises don’t work out so well.

Leave a Reply

