Posted in Uncategorized

Impossible

Living with chronic illness, I’m always looking for inspirational sayings… things to hang on my wall to keep me motivated and moving forward, even when I don’t feel like getting out of bed, which seems more often with each passing year. Today I came across a piece of wall art that simply stated, “Nothing is impossible. The word itself says I’m possible.” I’m not sure where this quote came from, but I have to get that print or make my own.

Living with multiple chronic illnesses, life isn’t always easy. As I’ve mentioned before, some days it’s easier to just stay in bed. However difficult things might get, I now find myself being reminded that “nothing is impossible.” It may take me longer to do certain things than it does other people and I may break simple tasks down into even smaller tasks to make them more manageable for me, but I still believe I can do anything I set my mind to.

For example, a normal person may throw their laundry in to wash. As soon as it gets washed, they put that load in the dryer and throw another one in the washer. When the dryer buzzes, they put the dry clothes away. For me, laundry is an all week event, and that’s for just one load. I wash the laundry and try to dry it the same day. I don’t like to let the clothes be wet too long because they can get a sour smell and begin to mildew. Just these two small tasks wear me out. So, the clothes usually go in a basket or are hung over something and left there for a few days. Eventually, I begin putting things away. One day I’ll work on folding clothes that go in my dresser. On another day I’ll hang up the clothes that go in the closet. Some weeks, I just don’t have any energy and I end up wearing the clothes from the pile without ever putting them away. As I lay here typing this post, there is a laundry basket in the living room with clothes in it. The basket has been sitting there for weeks and I really don’t know what is in it. It will eventually get emptied and things put away… just not today.

So, when you are tempted to look at a task and declare it impossible, step back, take a deep breath, and hear the task say, “I’m possible.” I may no longer be able to do things the way I once did, but I know that all things are possible.  I may not be able to walk or eat right now, but that doesn’t mean I’ll always be like this. I haven’t given up because I know all things are possible.

Leave a Reply

