Posted in Uncategorized

Making Memories

For me, March 2 is a day already filled with memories. Today is my Dad’s birthday. I’m thankful that I was blessed with good parents, who care about me. I could write a book on the things we did together as a family when I was a child. We enjoyed time spent together around the family dinner table each night and hours together camping, hiking, and cooking over an open fire. We built snowmen, went sledding, made snow angels, and had snowball fights. We fished and went swimming. There were only five years between my brothers age and my youngest sisters age. Being so close in age made it easy for us to do things as a family and we built strong bonds along the way.

Five years ago, March 2, brought a major change to everyone in our town. An EF3 tornado came through, leaving a big mess behind. The people of our community didn’t just sit down and give up. We worked together to clean up, heal, and rebuild. Our town still has scars from that night, but we are still moving forward. I feel like it’s our duty to honor the lives lost in that storm by moving forward and refusing to give up.

Today, I decided to make a few new memories. March 2 is celebrated in many schools across the country because of Dr. Seuss’ birthday. I visited the school where my niece and nephew attend and read the book, “Oh, the Places You’ll Go!” to both of their classes. I rested all week so that I would feel like going today. The trip may have worn me out, but it felt good to be able to do something nice for someone else. So many people do things to try to cheer me up and make my day a little brighter. The smiles on the children’s faces made my tiredness worth it.

For me, every day of life I’m given is a time for making memories. I’m learning to take time to stop and enjoy the small things in life. I think my chronic illnesses are teaching me not to take things for granted because we don’t know what tomorrow holds. We can’t change the past and we don’t know what the future holds, but we can enjoy the present.

Leave a Reply

