Posted in Dogs, Thankfulness

Lucky

I’ve been trying to decide since Sunday, May 7, whether or not to share on my blog that my dog, Lucky, died that day. While Lucky wasn’t a registered service animal, she was my at home canine helper. For the past eleven years, she has been more of an emotional support dog than I can begin to explain. I am so thankful to have had Lucky for those eleven years. She protected me and took care of me.  After debating with myself all week, I finally decided to share this post of pictures.

The above pictures of Lucky were taken when she was just a few weeks old. Lucky was born, along with four other pups, February 28, 2006. Lucky’s mother refused to accept the runt and left her cold and stiff to die. I came to the rescue and saved Lucky from an untimely death. How can anyone not fall in love with such a cute pup? Eleven years and twenty something pounds heavier, she still thought she had to sleep with her head on my chest.

As you can see from these pictures Lucky was spoiled rotten. She had her own box of toys to play with and was allowed to sleep in the bed. She was a smart dog and could bring the toy requested. She knew the difference in a ball, a rope, and a squeaky toy. She didn’t sleep curled up at the foot of the bed like most dogs. Instead, she stretched out like a person and slept under the covers with her head on a pillow.

After four years in the house, Lucky chose to move outside. I would let her out to play and she didn’t want to come back in. I didn’t want to leave her outside, but she kept begging. So, we bought her a kennel and dog house. She loved it out there, but still liked to come back in and live in the house during cold winter and hot summer days.

Lucky liked hanging out with me. One winter I found her watching the weather. I’m not sure if she was wondering if the snow was going to be over soon or if she had a crush on the weather man. She liked to go wherever I went, even if it was just going for a ride on the stationary bike.

100_2636

 

Leave a Reply

